top of page

Dead Man's Cell Phone, by Sarah Ruhl

A woman sitting in a quiet restaurant is writing and drinking her tea when a cell phone rings at length. Annoyed, she asks whether the owner, a man sitting in the corner, will pick it up. When he doesn't respond, she goes over to investigate and realises he has died. The phone rings again and she picks it up and becomes entwined in the man's relationships on his behalf.

I just watched a Cantonese version of this play at City Hall and thoroughly enjoyed it (I only looked at the time twice). Every single item on the stage was used creatively and I liked how the cast pitched in to move the props around, weaving them into the narrative during transitions. My cousin, L, played Carlotta, the mistress, and did a wonderful job of it, including the action scene. L was the person who told me of this play. Brava, brava!

Sarah Ruhl has the opening scene on her website and links to buy the full script. I might well follow up on that...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page