top of page

One Day More

Nearly an hour into December...  Nearly the end of term...

I don't know where this superhuman strength comes from - I believe it must be grace alone, faith alone.  It's been Les Miserables for my colleagues and me.  For some of us, this has been going on since October. I have no idea who set the grind to critical mode so early, but it's been hectic, manic and, now, far beyond all panic.

Besides the regular truckload of work and _pleasant_ neighbours, there have been some nasty surprises with traitors and ingrates galore.  It's been a while since cretins like this have surfaced in my life, but I see the striking contrast between my life before and after Christ.

We are all sinners, but not all of us accept it, let alone the free ticket out of the eternal mess.  The many unsavoury characters I have come across in my existence prior to knowing Jesus were impossible to forgive until I had first received forgiveness for myself.  But it's not automatic to let bygones be bygones; it's a choice.  When I see that He has forgiven me for everything I have ever done against Him, when I have taken hold of this gift of freedom, I have been set free from that trap of holding a grudge - who else is it in the cage?

So, when I remember "Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing" (Luke 23.34), I remember how far He has brought me - and see how far and how serious it will be for those who don't know Him yet.

And it is getting late.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page