top of page

The Trough of Efficiency and Things I'd Rather Be Doing This Weekend

I do not work at home or on weekends. Yet, this weekend I am doing both. Deadlines have been looming and finally whooshed past. I am still working at at herky-jerky pace to catch up. Maaaaan, it is so hard to focus.

There is work to do for next weekend's fair - the Big Picnic in Discovery Bay. Most of it is in place, but more journals, updated photos and a better mock-up of the display table take top priority right now. There are little things to do, like packing and renewing the inventory. If my trolley appears in time, that would be excellent.

Meanwhile, quite excited about this packaging - found out how to make these shopping bags out of newspaper ("How about Orange" and the photo by Jessica Jones)

Finally started on a few last night. Very gratifying. Takes about 10-15 minutes each when it would cost under $1 per bag - but making them means saving the environment. It's eating up my rag tag collection of cardboard and sturdy paper and work could be a source of free 'wrapping' paper - we go through more than 20 reams of paper every week and each ream comes in a plain white coat that is usually thrown into the recycling bin. I'm pretty sure it can't be recycled... So maybe that will work. It's not like people really ask for bags or wrapping, but hey, nice option.

There are one or two other projects related to FeldieJournals I've been meaning to explore. In July, M had made some suggestions about being a social enterprise and it got me thinking. There are ways, but for now, there is no time...

Marking mediocre work when I'm at the valley of inefficiency is not my ideal activity on a gorgeous autumn weekend. Well, at least the window's open, the breeze is light and the jazz keeps me company.

UPDATE

It is 0141 on Monday morning and I AM DONE. IT IS FINISHED.

Missed a long-awaited party for some compositions that were either devoid of creativity or academic honesty. Seriously, people... if you can't write, start where you are. If you have no imagination, plot it through logically and sew it up as best you can. Use simpler language. But if you rip off someone else's stuff, how can that possibly help you improve? Why don't I just read the Internet version of your work and give them a grade?

So, a few of my kids are getting it today. Oooh hoo hoo...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page