top of page

Future Fairs and Behind the Scenes

Since I started participating at market fairs this summer, I've kind of grown hooked! Here's the new page. The external pretty URL is http://bit.ly/vs-fairs (same destination).

From the perspective of a small business, there are many things to learn. What I haven't really mentioned is the elbow grease that goes into it. Unlike knitting or journalling, bookbinding isn't that portable. It requires holing up at home at a desk filled with loads of supplies. Can't be done on a bus or on the train. The few workshops I have run so far have still necessitated a large flat surface, basic equipment and at least an active hour of work and three passive hours of drying time.

So here I am sitting at the desk my shared home office watching 深夜食堂 (これ最高~)and updating this log. A few weeks ago, it was making covers or binding signatures to Rick and Morty or casing in to some quality romcom like How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days. Sometimes, I listen to audiobooks like Ray Bradbury's The Martian Chronicles or Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale while printing pages and folding and punching signatures.

You get the idea.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page