top of page

Mid-Autumn Festival

An overcast night threatened by scattered showers really reminded me of my Mid-Autumn Festival in Rhode Island so many years ago. It was senior year, my fourth and last at Brown and I was riding on so much uncertainty even in that first term. What would I do after graduation? Where would I be? etc. etc. And who would have known about the draining job applications and singular interview to come in the second term?

But then, I had a great household: the four of us had rented a flat about 15 minutes off campus at 18 Barnes Street and got on swimmingly. V (not me) was O Jazz and I think B was Sloth. What was L? I was Vibe. We were Mixed Kitschen because of the random things we cooked. B's weekly pots of wontons, for instance. L's legendary chocolate cake and decadent eggplant dishes. I think I fried ... eggs? And ate Lucky Charms after midnight (and did not turn into an evil Gremlin, thanks). I really don't remember .

But that Mid-Autumn Festival so many years ago was very similar to tonight's - a brief moment watching the, er, star of the show and that was that. So much has changed since then. It feels like a completely different life. And that was already a long time ago...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page