top of page

By the Skin of My teeth, November

In the teaching profession, it seems that November is the turning point - you make it to December and you'll make it through the rest of the year...

This month alone, I've sat through three 1.5-hour speaking exams in a fortnight, kept my cool overall despite multiple outbreaks in class with mild-mannered young men turning into monkeys and then monsters, written 16 200-word articles on teaching, vetted 12 exam papers (some multiple times), redrafted part of an exam paper and dished out my first detention this year.

Haaaaa...

On some days, I have just gone home and slept it off. On other days, I resorted to indulging in shopping therapy (supermarkets! Food). I've gone through two jars of coffee since September. I have been yearning for a holiday since November began, but will have to wait till December.

I know this strength comes from patient colleagues, decent students, a supportive family and, above all, my lord and saviour, Jesus.

Can't wait for a breather.

Until then, am surviving on popsicles, sleep, random novels, Twenty-one Pilots' 'Heathens,' Two Cello's concert album, Joe Hisaishi's work for Studio Ghibli and Provokiev's "Dance of the Knights"... No notebooks or substantial creative writing till December at least!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page